For Every Airbrush Artist!

Ready to get involved? Register for free and you won't see any google advertising!

Register

3D Printed Stencils

Discussion in 'General Airbrush Discussion' started by DannMarli, Mar 12, 2018.

?

Is there a market/interest in 3D printed stencils?

1. Yes

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. No

100.0%
  1. DannMarli

DannMarli Young Tutorling

Hello!

I am new to airbrushing and I have been watching a lot of YouTube tutorial. I see that people are making their own stencils out of paper, etc. and a thought came to me. I have a 3D printer so I was wondering if anyone has made them with a 3D printer and how did it turn out? I also started thinking if there would be a market on like eBay or such for 3D printed stencils or custom stencils.

I know this looks spammy since it is my first post but I am just looking for feedback from the community if this would be something that may be of interest. Obviously the stencils would be for the smaller works (stencil size 8.5" x 11" or smaller) and not cars unless those dimensions fit the job.

Note: You may see this exact post on other airbrush forums, I am just looking for feedback from different groups.

Thanks for reading this!

Dan
  2. Mr.Micron

Mr.Micron Royal pain in the air hose Admin

The answer is yes and no. Why 3d means height , wide and depth while more stencils are only 2d being most are on 5 mil or 10 mil mylar or other material.
    An example of what you can do with it may help form a more informed answer on this one.
    But making 3d items to be airbrushed I can see a market for being place like Coast Airbrush sell things like bowling pins , Fish and other items that are 3d to paint.
    Now how about a nice introduction in our introduction section found here: http://www.airbrushforum.org/introductions/
    jord001 likes this.
  3. DannMarli

Thanks for the reply and I posted my intro.