Acrylic Lacquer

Draxden

Double Actioner
Hi guys! I'm new here, and I'm also new to airbrushing! (Sorry if I was supposed to post in a "new members" thread)

I just wanted to pick your brains to try to find some answers to a question I have. I've been panting controllers and nerf guns for a while now, however I've never airbrushed one until last night. I was wanting a shorter turn around for the clear coat than the one I currently have. (7 days fully cure, before I can apply additional coats after 1 hour.) I need to clear coat the shells of the controller, then apply decals, and clear over top of those. I recently purchased an auto acrylic laquer by rustoleum. I've never used it before, and I'm worried it will have an adverse reaction to my paint. I use a rustoleum black primer, and wicked colors.

Does any one have an experience using this product before? On top of wicked colors, or waterslide decals? If so any information would be appreciated!

I haven't used the Rusto before, but I have used Pro Form's1k acrylic laquer clear coat from a can though. Your airbrushed artwork will be fine ( Wicked is good that way), but to be on the safe side I would spray a bit of the clear on your vinyl stickers first on a test panel. As for curing... I would wait the seven days, but you might be able the apply the vinyl after the clear flashes off the first coat. But then again I would do a test panel for that as well. Better to be safe.
Take care and hopefully this helps out.