Advice for Painting Ceiling

S

Shara

I'm brand new to airbrushing and I'm going to paint a sunset on a ceiling. Any advice on what type of paint to use? I ordered Createx (opaques), but I'm wondering if I should have bought Createx Illustration instead.

Also, how many ounces of paint will I need to cover a whole ceiling? The room is the size of a normal bedroom.

Thanks, in advance!

Hi Shara, I'm assuming your ceiling is smooth and doesn't have the stipple on it. That's a big room. It would depend on what you drawing looks like. Me personally, I would paint the ceiling with normal interior house paint (much cheaper) and I would go semi-gloss. The colour would be the most dominant colour than airbrush the sunset. Do a light scuffing before you start and wipe clean. Createx is good that should do the work. I see you joined today, where are you from?
Patch

Thanks for the advice! The ceiling is smooth and I've already painted two sunsets on it with a paint brush and normal latex paint, but I hated both of the finished products. It's hard to blend and fade with thick paint and a brush. So... I'm going to airbrush it and hope for the best! At least I'll have a new hobby after I'm done. The picture I had fades from daytime with white clouds on one side of the room into sunset clouds in the middle and the moon & a few stars on the other side.

Yes, I'm new to the forum and I think I'll need a lot of tips on getting started. I'm from Atlanta.