Advice needed please

S

Shane1971

Hi.
As im new to Airbrush I've decided to try and do this portrait of an Aboriginal man.
I have ordered Trident Core 4 paint set and I was thinking of doing this painting on MDF primed with Gesso.
2018-03-25-09-29-26.jpg2018-03-25-10-05-19-1.jpg

With your history of spray painting and colour matching you have a major advantage over most of us, so a core trident kit should suit you fine.

As for creating texture/effects I suggest you trawl through the Step by Step it the Works in progress sections and get an idea on how to do things. It’s not hard once you get started.
As for tools.
Scalpel or hobby blade (there is a technique to it)
A sharpened wooden dowel works well on non porous surface.
A fiberglass pencil 4mm or 2mm - often used for cleaning electronics
Hard & soft pencil style erasers
Fine automotive grade steel wool

Lots of options for tools,
Look at things around the house/shed that you can spray through to get a bit of texture happening EG: green scourer, pulled apart to make it thinner. Dryer sheets give great texture too.

Find a few things to practise ‘texturing’ with before jumping straight into this picture

With your history of spray painting and colour matching you have a major advantage over most of us, so a core trident kit should suit you fine.

As for creating texture/effects I suggest you trawl through the Step by Step it the Works in progress sections and get an idea on how to do things. It’s not hard once you get started.
As for tools.
Scalpel or hobby blade (there is a technique to it)
A sharpened wooden dowel works well on non porous surface.
A fiberglass pencil 4mm or 2mm - often used for cleaning electronics
Hard & soft pencil style erasers
Fine automotive grade steel wool

Lots of options for tools,
Look at things around the house/shed that you can spray through to get a bit of texture happening EG: green scourer, pulled apart to make it thinner. Dryer sheets give great texture too.