advice on using iwata hp please

M

MrDigBick

Hi guys, as some of you know I purchased a hp-cs the other day. It feels great but I'm really struggling with the detail side of things.
I can't draw, will never pretend I can, Forever trying always failing. I was really hoping this brush would allow me to maybe move on past the infant ability level I had a go at some fine detail this afternoon and Im crap.
I'm using auto air paint
Auto air 4011 reducer
The triger feels a lot more heavier than what I'm used to with my cheap knock offs. This means when I take the tip off I go in for fine detail I get nothing nothing SPLODGE of also getting quite a bit of spidering and tip dry....

I am a proper green noob any form of art and maybe these are the learning steps everyone must go through but, today I must admit I felt defeated and really deflated. Even the wife asked what was wrong.

Cheers for any input given

Tom

Auto air is really ment to go through a full size gun. The air brush paints by Createx are wicked and wicked detail and the new illustration paints.

I recommend paints that flow easy for new air brushers. Try com-art. I can not make Createx work in a AB so I'm no help but I do know you will need some of their brush restorer to clean the paint out.

Auto air color is realy thick, so you have to reduce it heavy. Svee Wheeler made a real good youtube serie about reducing paint, this one is with the autoair color. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wMkcOQvHqK8
PS.: when it's hot outside you probably have to reduce it even more.

I think the AA states 3:1 as a guideline on the bottle. Sometimes I use it straight. Most times I use a 4:1 reducer to paint ratio. Metallics and pearls will be thicker so more reducer will be needed. It's all bout learning what works for you, temp and pressure, and tip size can alter this, but after fighting it for a bit you will be able to adjust on the fly with any airbrush.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD