Airbrush gives a blob. Why?

S

Sean Chappell

Hi all. Sean Chappell here. I'm new to airbrushing and need a hand with an issue diagnosis. Here's the deal...

I have an Iwata Eclipse, bottom feed airbrush. When airbrushing, paint flows fine (as fine as acrylics can, tip dry not withstanding) but when I release the trigger (air still on) I get an extra blast of paint leaving the nozzle. Fine lines are constantly ruined. What gives?

When the air is on, no paint is being released. I cleaned the needle, cleaned the nozzle and the two seem to be seated properly. There is no play in my trigger. I don't get it. Any ideas?

Thanks,

Sean

Might be as simple as...when you release the trigger letting the needle slap forward and pushing the paint in the nozzle out the end of the brush?try easing the trigger forward and see if it helps any.
Also would you please go to the intro section on the forum and tell us a little about yourself ? things like what paint your using,at what pressure you spray the paint, where you live in this world what you paint and how long you have been painting? all help us answer your questions thanks

what paint are you using and where do you call home, we may be able to recommend somewhere close for supplies

Sounds like a possible triggering action issue as mark mentions..generally indicates a pause in the stroke at the starting or stopping point, basically start and continue the line after you trigger the ink/paint off..

Mitches vid may explain it differently or better but heres another :) I am assuming though your not meaning a physical blob of paint but more a dot on the end or start of your lines. Good luck..If it is a blob, may just be a dirty gun as also mentioned