For Every Airbrush Artist!

Ready to get involved? Register for free and you won't see any google advertising!

Register

An Introduction to Pinstriping..

Discussion in 'Pinstriping' started by Madbrush, Jun 9, 2012.

1. Madbrush

Madbrush Guest

I am a Painter and Decorator by trade, I also did much sign writing years ago before tradition went out of the window with the advent of plastic and vinyl signs, My work also involved a lot of pin-striping, I personally did not use the special short handled long haired brush you've seen used for the this fine art, the reason was that most my work revolved around lettering on company vehicles and shop signs, mostly on the shop signs was there pin-striping involved.

The difference between the 2 types of brushes is, the sign-writing brush has a long handle with sable hair between 2 and 3cm long varying thickness's for different size letters, they can have a pointed tip have a chisel edge, pointed tips are great for making sharp corners although this was possible with the chisel edge which I always used, the chisel edge was ideal when there was pin-striping involved because it was easier to achieve a uniformed thickness of line.

The pin-striping brush has a very short handle and has hair between 6 to 8 cm or longer depending on the thickness, the hair is also very wide at the ferrule and decreases in width as it nears to the point, some of them are also slightly chisel edged, but the main reason for difference in form is that the pin-striping brush is designed hold a vast amount of paint which allows the user create extremely long continuous and uniformed lines, thickness of line can be controlled by increasing or decreasing pressure on the brush, the short handle is held in the palm of the hand and the index finger is placed over the front of the ferrule ans close to hair as possible, this is as if you were pointing at the work, the pinky and next finger are used to guide the brush and also keep it steady.