2k paint 2pack paint

• 2k paint

Votes: 1 100.0%
  • Automotive airbrushing

Votes: 1 100.0%

• Total voters
G

GeeDonV

I have bought a 2k paint Made by Alesco paint maker and also the 2k clear coat that comes in package with hardener,and the primer.. As for now. I only have two kind of colour which is black and white. My questions is
1.What will be the best way for me to experimenting the paint with airbrush
2. What would be the best practice along the process of experimenting as i am just a beginner in airbrushing
3. Is the 2k paint suit to be painted on other surfaces other than automotive?
Thanks for any helping answer..

You being a beginner to airbrush 2K is not the way to go .
Why , You need a proper paint booth. The ISO's in 2k are higher then in other systems . Any polyurethane has ISO's which mean full suit , Paint booth with full filter system and a mask rated for use with 2k.
2k must have both parts mixed which limits you pot time .
Being this it your first post and we know nothing about you . Like where you live , what airbrushes and other equipment you have and what is your end goal.
2k is designed for hard surface painting . That being said you can seal , prime , base coat , clear coat , art work (with any paint rated for use) then final clear.

So now where you from?
Do you have full paint booth with filter system to protect you , your neighbors and your family from ISO's
If not do not do use it .

To paint with airbrush you need 1k urethane paint. It's also called 2 stage paint or base coat which means you need to cover it further with a clear coat.
As said above, once activated 2K paint has very limited time to work with, so it will not work, while 1K paint will work for a long time. I have urethanes that were bought years ago and it's OK with them, I only pour some thinner in the cups with the paint from time to time as it vapors.