Beginner airbrush clog and splatter

T

Tnessi

Hi, I'm fairly new to airbrushing, and I've been experiencing some issues with my Iwata Neo airbrush and compressor. I started practicing with Iwata Com-Art paint and had no trouble. I primarily paint shoes, so I began using the airbrush to get faster coverage. My first pair went great, and I got complete coverage with no problem. I used Angelus Paint with there 2-Thin airbrush additive. That was the last time my brush worked correctly.

At this point, I have to completely clean my brush every 5 minutes in order to prevent it from completely clogging. I strain my paint, I check my needle, I clean with both warm water and Iwata Airbrush Cleaner, and I use reducer always. I'm not sure what else to do, and from a beginners point of view, it looks like it's in perfect condition.

thanks...

It sounds to me like your nozzle might be dirty. I'm not familiar with that brand of paint so I'm not sure what advice to give you. You may need to soak the nozzle overnight?

Okay more information please.
I know the airbrush is a neo Gravity feed or bottom feed ?
What compressor are you using one with a tank or one without?
I do not know the brand of paint your using being on anything textile I use Wicked Color or the old trusted Createx made just for textiles.
If it is clogging that fast I say your paint is not reduced enough, The additive may not be a reducer but more of a transparent base. But as I said I have never heard of the paint you're using.

Hi
I’m like you, very very new to airbrushing and have asked loads of questions on here over the last few weeks regarding flow problems.
I feel maybe what I have learned it would be good to pass some back so maybe the paint you are running is to thick, there is an Airbrush tutor vid on youtube where he discusses viscosity of paint which might help you out a bit and loads of vids on stripping and cleaning correctly.