Blending and Color Questions

Z

ZJOmega

So I am currently working on a project and am still new to airbrushing. If I want to get different shades of a color how do I approach it? For example I have Wicked red, how Would I acquire darker shade of it? Do I just add Like a drop of transparent black to darken it? Obviously to lighten it I would add a drop of white to the red to lighten. I didn't know if it was the same to darken or not. Thanks for any responses.

I am no expert when it comes to colours, so hopefully someone will chime in soon. For what its worth here's my view. Firstly I assume we're talking opaque red here? If it was Wicked detail you can just keep adding layer after layer and it will deepen/darken. Good for fades because you just hit the areas you want with more layers, and of course you can add a drop of trans black too if needed as you go. Can take a while because the red starts off very pink looking at first, but IMO gives a real subtle transition as you build up. You can add trans black to opaques as you suggested too, but it depends on how dark you need to go, you may be able to add a drop of something more subtle, maybe sepia? It's worth experimenting with this kind of thing. Go too far and things start to look 'muddy' To lighten adding white is going to send red toward pink, (black towards grey, though other colours will become more pastel shades of their original colour) so you may be better off adding transparent base. This reduces the amount of pigment by volume, so can give you a subtler shade, and doing fewer passes can help too. You could also try adding a tiny amount of yellow, to make it a more orangy red, - again it all depends on the look you're going for.