Creating a line drawing and Shading - GIMP SBS

C

Cheesegeezer

Hi all,

Following on from my Creating a line drawing and Shading - Photoshop SBS. I have decided to do one for GIMP.

As being a total novice at airbrushing and also being a geek with computers, I thought that this tutorial may help other beginners with getting to grips with the main lines on a face and also shading densities. I think it will help me alot in determining shading and creating those all important shapes to get any art piece to look pretty good.

GIMP is a free open source image editing program which is almost on par with Photoshop in terms of editing in 2D formats.

GIMP for Windows Download Page
GIMP for MAC OS Download Page

So I've been playing around with it for about an hour on GIMP (never used it before) but all the tools are there to create a similar effect to Photoshop, although it was a little more tricky.

Open GIMP and then open your desired image thru File --> Open.
I chose Charlize Theron (mmmmmm ;) )

BjSNKYC.png

Create 2 duplicates of the image by right clicking on the Layer and selecting duplicate layer. Ensure that the top layer is selected. You should have something like this now.

okjNfS7.png

Click on colors from the top menu and select Hue/Saturation and reduce the saturation all the way to -100. Click OK

7hNsViX.png

To stop color coming thru we also need to change the mode of this layer. So.... Above where your 3 layers are ,there is a drop down menu that says Mode: Normal click the drop down and select Saturation.
That's the top layer done with and you should have something like this

loqxuVT.png

Now select the middle layer and change to the mode to Dodge.

qT0s7LW.png

From the top menu again, select Colors --> Invert

ZvGsFDO.png

Now we need to apply the Gaussian Blur filter.
Go to the top menu Click Filters --> Blur -- Gaussian Blur.