For Every Airbrush Artist!

Ready to get involved? Register for free and you won't see any google advertising!

Register

Digital "Blanking"?

Discussion in 'Digital Airbrush Tutorials' started by splasha, Dec 30, 2013.


  1. splasha

    splasha Detail Decepticon!

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    1,030
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Location:
    Geelong ,Victoria,Australia
    What's the easiest way to create an outline image of a picture or drawing, etc.?
    I have a few photo's etc that I'd kind of like to make a stencil from , but don't quite know how to go
    about it.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks,
    Splasha.:subdued:
  2. AndreZA

    AndreZA Elite Member! Elite Member! Artist of the Month!

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,269
    Likes Received:
    5,098
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Photocopy effect in photoshop.
  3. MeeshellMP

    MeeshellMP Goddess Queen of carts Mod

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Messages:
    7,089
    Likes Received:
    5,514
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Location:
    Hillsboro Ohio
    I dont have photo shop...im such a cheap ass lol, I take tracing paper, to my computer screen, draw it out, then tape it to the window. From there, it gets traced on whatever transfer stuffs im using. Time consuming? Na, not really, im so used to it, that im quick at it actually lolol
  4. jord001

    jord001 Air-Valve Autobot!

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    3,442
    Likes Received:
    1,997
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Location:
    Birmingham UK
    You could print it out and then rub charcoal or a lead pencil on the back of it then trace it out, transferring the image to whatever or use seral paper / wax free carbon paper to transfer the image.

    Lee
  5. RebelAir

    RebelAir Air-Valve Autobot!

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,976
    Likes Received:
    2,249
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Location:
    Victoria Australia
    I like to use plastic..Generally I use plastic A4 slips, place the printed picture inside the slip and use a fine line ink pen to trace the outline I need..If you want to make a stencil you cld do the same by taping the printout to acetate directly (I use acetate as it tends to be stronger than the plastic slips or mylar), do your outline then cut it out with a very sharp knife..GL
  6. splasha

    splasha Detail Decepticon!

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    1,030
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Location:
    Geelong ,Victoria,Australia
    Thanks, all.
    Will definately try the acetate trick.
    Sounds like a good solution.
  7. splasha

    splasha Detail Decepticon!

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    1,030
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Location:
    Geelong ,Victoria,Australia
    Quick question on the acetate.
    Is the stuff solvent resistant?
    I mean, can the finished stencil be cleaned and re-used?
  8. RebelAir

    RebelAir Air-Valve Autobot!

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,976
    Likes Received:
    2,249
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Location:
    Victoria Australia
    If your using water based paints it will clean up with some warm soapy water, sometimes I'll give it a rub with an old scourer pad to remove anything thats a bit more stubborn ..I have cleaned it before with solvent as well when using my own cut freehand stencils along with uros but didnt apply a lot, just a damp rag..Certainly wouldnt soak the stuff in solvent though as the design will become a ball of melted plastic :) main thing ya prob have to worry about is to make sure ya don't catch any fine edges and damage the stencil but yer most I have cut and used have lasted for years....You may find when you cut it, especially if you use the thicker acetate that a bit of emery to clean up the cut edges or any rough bits in the design also pays off..GL
  9. splasha

    splasha Detail Decepticon!

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    1,030
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Location:
    Geelong ,Victoria,Australia
    Thanks, RebelAir.
    Will try this with the next work I do.
    I assume that acetate sheet I can get from a local office suppliers?
    Would a projector transparency sheet do?
  10. RebelAir

    RebelAir Air-Valve Autobot!

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,976
    Likes Received:
    2,249
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Location:
    Victoria Australia
    You can buy the thicker stuff at spotlight in a roll, which works well for simple cutouts like french curves or simple shape shields, the office work transperency is a bit lighter and will work well for more detailed cut outs or my favorite source is of all my kids chrissie presents as its kind of free LOL...If its not so much a stencil ya making but more to project an image I use the plastic pockets and a fine line pen to draw the image on then project..
  11. splasha

    splasha Detail Decepticon!

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    1,030
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Location:
    Geelong ,Victoria,Australia
    Great idea!
    Will try out the spotlight one when next my other half wants some more crafty stuff.
    is it like contact clear, or more stiffer than that?
  12. jgny1

    jgny1 Mac-Valve Maestro!

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,011
    Likes Received:
    400
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    You can actually download Photoshop I think it is CS2 for free they give their older versions away free..
  13. jgny1

    jgny1 Mac-Valve Maestro!

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,011
    Likes Received:
    400
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
  14. Russ Allen

    Russ Allen Elite Member! Elite Member!

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    1,408
    Likes Received:
    1,087
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    I used InkScape for tracing outlines. Inkscape is free software you can download offline, just google it. I use it for my vinyl cutting needs as well! Then (since I haven't bought a new printer yet since mine went out), I pull the outline up in inkscape and I can make it to whatever size I want, then I tape standard copy paper to the screen, turn out the lights, and BAM, I have a light box to trace my image, lol. Just don't press too hard with your pen or pencil on your laptop, lol. Guess you could do it on a computer monitor as well, lol. I've used Saral paper, had both good and bad experiences with it, have finally decided it would be worth buying two projectors!! The LED300 and the a small one for my cell phone that will work for the smaller projects!! That's, when I get rich of course, haha, until then I will continue to print copies from the printer or trace on my laptop, lol. (gonna hafta check out the CS2 free download to, never used Photoshop before, might be fun to toy with).
  15. RebelAir

    RebelAir Air-Valve Autobot!

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,976
    Likes Received:
    2,249
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Location:
    Victoria Australia
    The acetate in spotlight mate is made for doing window paints (Similar to leadlighting) its quite thick and comes in a roll, nothing sticky about it, can be a pain to cut so would only really use it for say making your own french curve sets or simple shaped shields, use those transparencies ya mentioned if ya want something easier to cut out for a more complicated design, plus ya can draw on them with a fine tipped pen for transfering easy with a projector,you can also draw on the acetate and wipe it off easy when ya finished with that design and ready for the next...
  16. Melbee

    Melbee Detail Decepticon!

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    734
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Location:
    Holland
    Hi jgny, I just downloaded and installed CS2 from your link, thanks. It works but every time I open the program it asks me to Register. I don't want to Register and keep clicking Do Not Register but when I open it again, it asks me again to Register.

    Is there a way to turn this Register Window off? Does it do it to you too?
    Cheers Mel
  17. jgny1

    jgny1 Mac-Valve Maestro!

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,011
    Likes Received:
    400
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    What version of windows do you have?
  18. jgny1

    jgny1 Mac-Valve Maestro!

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,011
    Likes Received:
    400
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    For windows7 users you can do this:
    Go to computer click on it. Open C drive. Click on users, look for your name, then Appdata, then Roaming, then Adobe, Click on Adobe. On the very bottom there should be a file called com.adobe.330.en_US.registration The .en_US part may be different depending on country. Double click on this file. Choose select a program from a list of installed programs then click ok. Uncheck Always use the selected program to open this kind of file Select NOTEPAD and hit ok Note pad will open Look for LATER at top and change to Never. Select file, then hit save, and close note pad.

    Just an FYI this is not hacking the software or a hacked version of the software, adobe is giving this older version of software for free. This is a windows 7 permissions issue where it will not let the application save the "never" in the file automatically when you select do not register. Just wanted to say add that.
    :loyal:
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2014
  19. Melbee

    Melbee Detail Decepticon!

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    734
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Location:
    Holland
    I have Windows 8.1
  20. jgny1

    jgny1 Mac-Valve Maestro!

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,011
    Likes Received:
    400
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    you should have a similar file to that registration file. You can try to look for that file, or try to right click the shortcut and select run as administrator. Then select the do not register button. that may work. I do not have win 8 yet.

    You can also try to search for the file name com.adobe.* and see if it tells you where it is. Then edit that file like I said above.

Share This Page