Does the tip create the brush size?

B

baevans11

This will probably seem like a really dumb question to most so forgive me as I am very new to this. But I have a Master G22 & G25. Does the tip cap determine the size of the stroke size? (Other than the application of the dual action of course) the reason I ask is the G25 has better feel to me especially for more detailed stuff but it doesn't have a resovoir cap and I was just wondering if I could merely change the cap from one to the other to use the G22 (with cap) to achieve the same detail as the G25? I received these a gift to get into the hobby and I plan to get a higher end brush soon I just want to make the most with what I have for now. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

If parts are interchangeable you can experiment with them as you like:) If you don't like the result it's always possible to put the parts where they were at the beginning.

I assume you are referring to the thickness of a line you spray? There are many things that affect it. Paint viscosity, pressure, speed of pass, closeness of brush to surface and amount of needle pulled back. So assuming your needle is pulled all the way back to give a consistent amount of paint flow you can make a thinner line by either moving faster and closer. The real key is practice.

From what I can find, where the G22 and G25 are offered together, the G22 is listed as having a .3 tip size, the G25 a. 2. Those "point 3" or "point 2" numbers indicate nozzle opening size, and will generally indicate which one will paint a fatter or thinner line. The higher the number the larger the paint flow... I am pretty sure that the head pieces on those brushes are interchangeable, and you should be able to switch the pieces. Now, here is the thing - I can not swear, as those brushes are of an inexpensive nature, but - Generally, when you change the nozzle size, like going from a .2 to .3, you also need to switch to a .3 needle, and .3 air cap.

Last edited: