Golden High Flow, why wont it work

A

Arron

Hi All
I have a problem using Golden High Flow acrylics.
I'm a beginner at this so hopefully its something everyone else has gone through and solved.

Anyway, the problem is that when using Golden HF for fine lines the paint starts off OK but within a few seconds it chokes off - so that no more paint will flow. It only occurs when doing fine lines - say 1mm wide or less - but they are actually quite important to me.

I'm about 90% sure its not a simple tip dry issue, though as I said I'm new at this.

Doing some experiments with other paints, I do not get the same problem. The other paints will spray fine lines until the cup runs out.

I have tried every possible combination of pressure and viscosity with virtually no difference.

I have included a photo of some squiggles on card using different paint mixes to show you what I mean. The parameters for this test were:
Iwata Eclipse HP-CS
Airbrush was thoroughly cleaned in Acetone before starting, then rinsed, then lubed. Also cleaned with windex between each test.
All done at 26psi
2 regulators and 2 water/oil filters on the compressor
temperature today 17 degrees celsius, a bit of rain about

As you can see I used cheap red airbrush acrylic from a supermarket (Aldi) on the left and it sprayed fine.
Then I used Tamiya acrylic cut with X-20a, the recommended thinner. It was fine too.
Then I used Golden HF, straight from the well shaken bottle. You can see it peters out after a few seconds.
Then I used Golden HF cut with about 40% water. It went a bit longer, but still fail.
Then I used Golden HF cut with about 40% water and 10% Interactive Retarder, fail again.

So, using other paints I have no problem doing fine lines, and using Golden HF I have no problem doing the broad stuff but cant get the fine lines happening.

So, sorry if this has already been discussed, I did search the forums but may have not used right terminology.

So can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong.