Greetings from West Cork!!

S

SarahFIrl

Hi all, another newbie here! Am a practicing artist (of sorts) and I have just purchased my very first airbrush and compressor. Not knowing better, I ended up with a detail brush, 0.2-0.3mm, but hey - it sprays paint! Think I already damaged the needle tip though trying to get paint off it :( Am using Wicked Detail by Createx after getting properly frustrated at thinning liquid acrylic ink with window cleaner. Thanks YouTube.

Anyway, am not a big fan of dots and lines (urgh) and I am already having good results doing dagger lines and practicing stencilling and shading the SAME skull cut-out I made from a cereal box. Hey, it works and I can see my improvements on each one, happy days! Skull #15 this afternoon, but nowhere near ready to show anyone anything yet. Still getting a handle on thinning/reducing and air pressure. Already don't like stencils but my hand isn't steady enough to freehand anything bigger than a grape yet! Looking forward to trying out some more colours once my 0.5mm brush arrives, hopefully it won't be too long in the post.

So, nice to find what seems like a very friendly forum of airbrushers. The plan is to eventually move onto airbrushing metals and plastics (bikes and helmets, of course), however it does mean learning to draw stuff I don't like. Like skulls. Lots of them. I'll have loads of questions as I don't know anyone else who is airbrushing near me as a hobby, only a super talented guy who does airbrushing for a living thirty miles away.

So, if anyone has any advice or supreme wisdom for a newbie that isn't already on the 'net, please feel free to let me know!

Sarah F

Welcome aboard Sarah - glad you are having a good time with it, because that is what it is all about. I would suggest doinv dots ands lines, I know they are boring; however, they are the fundementals everything is built on. Maybe, only do them for 5 - 10 minutes before you move onto something fun. Welcome aboard and enjoy