Hello Everyone!

Jurien72

Have Airbrush - Will Travel!
Hi there! I'm Jim. I'm kinda new at airbrushing. I work as an over-the-road truck driver, so I don't get much time for practice. However I get plenty of time to sit around, watch videos and chat online! I mostly paint plastic models and RC car bodies. I would like to learn more about "artistic" airbrushing techniques, which is difficult for me since I don't have an artistic bone in my body!

Welcome Jim.
Rest assured that having artistic bones is not a requirement to being able create artistic works. I'm one of the many members here that are proof of that. It just makes the journey a little more interesting. lol
Research in your 'down time' won't hurt either. read lots, ask question and then read/watch some more. The terminology will soon start to make sense.
Whatever you do don't buy a "kit". They're rarely worth the money, check in here first where you will get an honest response

Hey Jim, welcome from the UK. If you have plenty of time to chat, you'll fit right in. Plenty of talkers around here . Obviously not me (cough, cough,don't look at my post count!).

Soak up all the info you can, and then when you get the chance, it'll be there ready to go. I hope you can set aside practise time though, as putting it into practise is the best way to go. Any chance you can get a portable set up to take on the road with you if you get any down time?

Thanks for the warm welcome! I guess I should add that I'm in the US, and I currently own a Paasche HS, a VLST, and my new toy is a H&S Infinity. For a compressor I use a Craftsman shop-type jobbie. I was never all that impressed by the airbrush "kits"- I don't like having to buy a bunch of stuff in one box that I probably don't want or have no use for. For the same money I bought a compressor that can fill up my car tires and all that.