Hello

A

Alan Reynolds

Hello all! My name is Alan and I live in Berlin, Maryalnd. I'm a computer programmer by day and a wanna be artist. I have next to no experience with any kind of art (except photography, but that's different), but I have always been drawn to airbrushing. I actually tried to learn several years ago but didn't get very far before quitting. Lots of reasons for that, at least one of which was a lack of support. From what I've seen poking around the forums for the last hour or so, I feel like this place will help fill that gap.

As far as equipment goes, I have an Aztek A470 which I bought just before I stopped so it's several years old, but barely used. I also have a couple of inexpensive double action airbrushes although I don't remember what brand they are and they don't appear to have any markings. I still have some of the Createx paint I bought back then, both opaque and transparent, so that's what I'll be using at first. I have a small air compressor that I originally bought years ago for tire inflation and that sort of thing. However, I found out last night that it is not up to extended sessions. I barely had enough air in the tank to clean out the brush. I ordered a new, larger compressor today that should be here by Thursday.

My main goal in learning to airbrush is to do illustrations/portraits; hang it on the wall kind of stuff. Once I feel like I've gotten a handle on that, I might branch out into other areas such as t-shirts or auto/motorcycle work.

Hey there, welcome from New Zealand. Get ready for some practice, dot and daggers are your friend! Ask lots of questions, you'll be fine!

Welcome from Australia.

This is a great supportive bunch of lunatics, like you I have no art experience, cant draw for peanuts but thanks to this forum I can produce something pleasing to the eye.