Help on prepping a stainless steel motorcycle tank.

brushit

Gravity Guru
Hi everyone out there. I am not a beginner, but have been airbrushing helmets for many years. My friend has sent me brand new Harley Davidson tank and fenders to paint for him. Silly me, i thought they would come undercoated or something. No way, they are raw stainless steel with many machining grooves , scratches etc. Can anyone please help me out here with the correct method to prepare for painting. See pics. These grooves would be half a millimetre deep and can`t sand stainless . Should i fill them or what. Would be grateful for any replies. Thanks.

Attachments

• SAM_0469.JPG
    SAM_0469.JPG
    142 KB · Views: 27
  • SAM_0470.JPG
    SAM_0470.JPG
    109.8 KB · Views: 26
I don't understand when you say you can't sand stainless, yes it's a hard metal anyway - If the grooves are to deep to fill with a high fill primer then I would:
1.sand with 40- 80p sand paper on a da sander to provide tooth on the metal for a skim coat of body filler. I would then sand and shape the filler finishing with 100- 180p sandpaper.
2. Then spray with either a etch primer or epoxy primer followed by a primer filler and sand finishing with 800- 1000p wet/ dry. Alternatively you could use a hybrid epoxy like HOUSE OF KOLOR KD 3000 then you only need one primer. (Follow tech sheets)
3. Base, airbrush, clear

Hope that works for you

Hi everyone out there. I am not a beginner, but have been airbrushing helmets for many years. My friend has sent me brand new Harley Davidson tank and fenders to paint for him. Silly me, i thought they would come undercoated or something. No way, they are raw stainless steel with many machining grooves , scratches etc. Can anyone please help me out here with the correct method to prepare for painting. See pics. These grooves would be half a millimetre deep and can`t sand stainless . Should i fill them or what. Would be grateful for any replies. Thanks.
Thank