Hey all

D

Dark Rose

I'm Steve, a single dad from Indiana.
I'm currently laid off as a machinist and using some of my spare time in my workshop, I'm not an artist by any stretch but have picked up an airbrush to do some things more efficiently.
At the moment I joined to find out more about equipment with the possibility of gaining some skill and knowledge of what in heck I can do with it!

Hey Steve, welcome from New Zealand. Check out the tutorials on airbrushtutor.com Click the tutorials button above! It is a great tool but needs practice and a good amount of learning. There are some good summaries of brushes and compressors as well as paints and techniques.

One bit of advice, don't skimp on the brush or the paints. Get a paint specific to airbrush and do some research into the brushes. A common recommendation is the Iwata eclipse, 0.35mm nozzle. It's a dependable brush with a good reputation that allows plenty of range once the skill level is up. There are plenty of other brushes that are good as well, badger springs to mind. Avoid buying cheap kits - they lead to tears and frustration for a beginner and usually a second purchase.

Compressors, get a tank on it and avoid the cheap little ones... good for fish tanks, bad for airbrushing. :)