HOK KD3000 Epoxy primer through airbrush?

J

Juicegoose

I was going to start using this hybrid epoxy primer from HOK. Has anyone sprayed it with an airbrush? If so how were your results.
I spray in small batches(like 6ml) so Even a micro hvlp gun is overkill typically.

I've sprayed some other brand epoxy primer with varying results. It seems sometimes I get little bumps in the paint like it is spitting. I'm running my badger 105 at 20-30 psi. Do I need to go up on the pressure or buy a bigger needle?

I'm new to airbrushing so be easy. heheheeh

http://www.coastairbrush.com/S2_KD3000_TDS.pdf MFG recommends 1.3 tip size as a minimum .
So if your using an airbrush it would need to be the biggest tip size you can get and then only be used for the Epoxy .
Keep in mind that airbrushes spray round patterns vs the fan spray of a spraygun , (there are a few airbrush that offer the fan tip but not sure of tip size on them)

Thanks Micron. The reason I asked was because they state the same needle size on their usc01 show clear but I was told am able to spray that without issue. I have no issue with getting a micro spray gun for primer if it is a better tool for the job. I'm painting very small round objects and typically use about 3ml of primer per part at a time. Obviously I can save up and paint more at once if needed.

Would a micro hvlp gun give me a thin enough fan pattern that I'm not wasting a lot of paint?
Any particular brand or features I need to look for in a micro gun? or would a second larger airbrush be better?

scratch that on the fan pettern of a micro gun. It seems that i would for sure be able to get a small enough pattern and be able to adjust the material flow if needed.
I guess the question now would be what model. or features to look for.