I have a shop compressor - need air brush tool(s)

S

SquattingDog

Hello,

I have an air compressor and tank in my shop and figured I would use it until I have a better understanding of air brushing. The noise isn't an issue since it's located outside. My logic being I could save the money on the cost of a air brush specific compressor and use the money saved on other tools used in air brushing.

So assuming I can do that, I'm looking on suggestions on what to buy since I'm new to air brushing and have absolutely no equipment but I have air brushed a 'little' in school but that was a long time ago. Specifics would be appreciated.

-SD

Congrats on taking the plunge! You'll want some kind of filtration/moisture trap between your compressor & your brush, saves you the headaches & cursing when your compressor vomits water all over your project. :p

What kind of work are you interested in doing? Canvas/paper, t-shirts, automotive?

Currently I'm into aluminum art grinding and will be using an air-brush for that, so more along the automotive scenario.

Forget about the airbrush compressor. What you have is better. Run a line to your work space with an extra regulator and moisture trap. If you are looking for gun, get an Iwata Eclipse. The bottom feed is 0.5mm and the others are 0.3 or 0.35 can't remember which. They will last you for many years. The new Candie 2.O from Createx goes nicely with grinded aluminium.

Actually Coast airbrush did a live feed yesterday at 5 using Candie 2.0 from Createx. It would be worth watching and making a decision.

Paint on

Forget about the airbrush compressor. What you have is better. Run a line to your work space with an extra regulator and moisture trap. If you are looking for gun, get an Iwata Eclipse. The bottom feed is 0.5mm and the others are 0.3 or 0.35 can't remember which. They will last you for many years. The new Candie 2.O from Createx goes nicely with grinded aluminium.