For Every Airbrush Artist!

Ready to get involved? Register for free and you won't see any google advertising!

Register

introducing netiquette

Discussion in 'Introductions!' started by flycatchr, Jan 29, 2014.

1. flycatchr

flycatchr Detail Decepticon!

after some thinking and talking about forums I was wondering if it would help at all to post a list of helpful netiquette pointers.
    I might of course be wasting my time, as those that do introduce themselves would probably already be observant of these ideas.
    after searching the web for a bit, I found the following from 25 Forum Posting Etiquette Tips - TopTenREVIEWS
    But as a true engineer, I would like to aadd the "zeroeth law"

0. Please introduce yourself, including the type of equipment you have and where you are from, not only is it polite, but it will assist all of the respondents to your queries, and in most cases will be quicker for you to get to the root of a problem. It may even be better to use your signature and personal info with those facts. Please remember that all the experts, pros and helpful people here are giving advice, information and encouragement out of their own time and passion, instead of actually doing their passion.

"
    1. Read the forums rules and guidelines before posting for the first time.

2. Search the other posts to see if your topic is already covered.

3. Use a meaningful title for your thread.

4. Do not use a forum to promote your product, service or business.

5. Be civil. Personal differences should be handled through email or IM and not through posts displayed to everyone.

6. Stay on topic.unless a good hijack can be made from not staying on topic...

7. Ignore spammers, respond to them personally and not through the board, or report them.
    8. Do not submit a post that requires readers to download a large attachment. Either explain the attachment or, better yet, provide a link to the information.