IPT - been here a while :)

IPT

Detail Decepticon!
At the request of JackEB here I am :).

My name is Louis and I currently reside in Alaska. My background is really photography. Been doing that for about 20 years. I have sold many images and been published but it's all just a hobby for me that I enjoy. never wanted to make it a "job". Funny how people always say that though. "You should do this professionally". Fact is I like not "having to do it and once it's a paying job it can become "work".

I dis a little acrylic painting back in the day. What got me back into painting was the custom car scene. I got back into it and RC cars too. Saw cool paint jobs and just wanted to do it. I also liked the idea of being able to take multiple images or ideas and merging them into one. Photography is great but at the end of the day you are limited to what's in front of you. Sure you can be creative with your perspective and adding light but you just do not have the freedom like you do painting on a blank canvas.

My day job is actually as a PT (Physical Therapist). Thankfully I love my job so often don't even feel like I am "working". SO that's about it. As for AB gear I use a 30 gal garage craftsman compressor and a couple of airbrushes. All Iwata ranging from the Eclipse .5 to a .18 Micron. Also have an LPH 80 and 400. What i really need is more time to paint and less hobbies :).

Cheers.

Hey Louis, nice to meet you officially lol. I totally get what you mean about making your hobby your job. I thought about trying to make a living from AB, but as soon as its work, its not so fun. Oh, plus the fact I'm not good enough or quick enough lol, that might have something to do with it :D

Now everyone knows you are a photographer, we will all be picking your brains. I cant take a good photo to save my life, and I find trying to get a pic of something clear coated impossible.