Issues with new brush

K

Krow

Hello!

I'm a newbie on a budget. So I started out with one of those $50 Master airbrush packages from Amazon. I was painting using the cheap $0.99 craft acrylic paints you get from Michaels and thinning them with water. It worked pretty well with the Master airbrush I was using.

After about a year, my brush broke. I decided to upgrade and I purchased the Talon Paasche gravity-fed dual action brush (using same Master compressor). However now I'm finding that the craft acrylic paints don't work with this brush anymore. When I thin it down to the same consistency (milk-like) that I used before, it doesn't spray at all. Bubbles blow back into the feeder cup indicating the paint is too thick. When I water down the craft paints A LOT, it sprays just fine through the brush, but now the paint is too watery now and it drips everywhere and looks horrible.

I'm hazarding a guess that the issue are the cheap hobby craft paints. However, I'm wondering why they aren't working for the Talon Paasche airbrush when they worked just fine for my cheap Master airbrush. Also I'm concerned about the cost of switching over to airbrush paints. This past year I've amassed an enormous collection of craft hobby paint colors, and it'll be hard to replace every single once of them with more expensive airbrush paints. I'm trying to find a better solution.

I'd appreciate any help I can get. Thank you so much!!!!

Being airbrush can have different needle and nozzle set up , I can only assume that the masters set you bought had a .5 set up while the Talon comes with a .38 loaded in it which is much smaller unless you bought the full set up that comes with all 3 needle nozzle size . .25,.38 and the largest is .66.
the smaller the nozzle the more reduction is needed .
Also keep in mind that paint is not all made the same so the pigment in the craft paint may not be able to be reduced enough to go through the nozzle .