Iwata Neo Nozzle Thread

G

Gary Mills

Hi all. I'm sure this is a hopelessly naive post (I'm still fairly new to airbrushing, and this is my first post here), but I have an Iwata Neo CN , and in truth I've had nothing but problems from the off.

I've had it for about 18 months, and performance has been wildly erratic. I'm feeling that a lot of this may be down to my using acrylic paints, mixed with airbrush medium (not ready mixed): the paint clogs very easily, and I can't seem to get more than about 5 minutes use out of the thing before I have to strip it and clean it out. The whole process is extremely time consuming, even to get a small area of colour down.

I thought I may have just about got to grips with paint consistency, but now I've found that my constant cleaning of the airbrush seems to have practically ruined it. Having realised that what I was picking out of the nozzle wasn't dried clumps of paint - but the thread of the actual nozzle itself - I bought a replacement 0.35mm nozzle. Now it seems that I've damaged the inner thread of the nozzle housing inside the main airbrush body as well, as the new nozzle just won't screw on.

Is there any way this can be remedied, short of getting another airbrush (as I'm typing that I think I probably know the answer...)? Can the nozzle housing be replaced, or is there any other way of getting the nozzle on without adversely affecting the performance of the airbrush?

I'm aware that user testimonials for this model are very mixed. If it's curtains for this one, can anyone recommend an alternative beginner's model of a comparable price?

Thanks in advance.

Hi Gary

I have no doubt someone will probably ask you to go and make an introduction int eh introduction section, if you feel like doing that, cool