JackEb's journey of a newbie

JackEb

The Dragon Hunter
Staff member
Admin
Hi All,
Dec 2013
its been awhile.... and although some will have noticed me post every now and then they probably dont realise that i am a true newbie.
Those that known me for the last 18+ months will know that i had a set back before i even really got started.
Well the time has finally come YEEHAW :)
I wont bore anyone with details, (you can do a search of my prior posts if your really that bored ! ) but in the interest of giving other newbies hope i've decided to have an entire thread dedicated to my trials and tribulations of all things Airbrush. I havent put it in the 'star log' because i cant confidently say that i can make x amount of time per week to what is a 'hobby' but i intend on practising hard as time allows.

So here we go, you wont need popcorn, this wont take long !

In June 2012 i managed to fire up my airbrush a throw something into the comp at the time, just for fun !
these two pictures show the result of 3 hours. i didnt do practise sheets, just jumped in the deep end and hope i didnt drown in the process.

airbrush 1.JPG

airbrush 2.JPG

I was content with the outcome and was full of enthusiasm to continue forward, but life threw me a curve ball which resulted in me being admitted to hospital the next day.

Fast forward to today; Dec 2013
i am proud to announce that today i finally got to take by first tenative steps back to my airbrush journey
this is the result of 2 hours of faffing around (yes i have the practise sheets ready to rock and roll, i just needed to do 'something' rather than random dots and daggers (no offence Mitch)

first eye.jpg

its far from perfect, i had 'issues' with the air compressor not holding constant pressure and making me jump when it cut in (note the kinks in a couple of eyelashes LOL ) and its not quiet as dark as this pic shows. (fluoro lighting sucks)

so there you have it.... my 18 month journey of two pictures and a scribble sheet.