New Airbrush

Vince Driver

Needle-chuck Ninja
Good morning everyone. I'm a newbie here and looking for advice. Have a guy looking to sell me an airbrush. What are the opinions on Iwata eclipse HP-BS and Badger Renegade Krome. Which would be a better all around brush for my training. $80.00 each. Badger never used and eclipse used a couple times.

Hi, Vince - I have both of those brushes. In my opinion the Iwata is a better built brush, that will be capable of lasting a lifetime. They are quite versatile as well, so a fantastic brush to learn and grow with. This is a brush I recommend probably most often to someone new looking for a good tool to begin with.

On the other hand, the Badger is also a very good brush. They are capable of very fine and detailed work, as well as a broad range of coverage. At times I find them to be more forgiving than the Iwata in terms of paint reduction, and preparation, but at times the opposite can also be said. Badger parts are generally less expensive to replace vs the Iwata when/if the need arises, and Badger as a company has fantastic customer service.

In the end, they are both decent to very good brushes that you really can't go wrong with.

I can't judge the badger as I have never worked with one , but I would go for the Iwata all the way and imo everything is better than a master airbrush ;)

I also own both brush's and at that price I would get them both as the HP-CS is bottle feed and the krome is not you can use the bottle feed for bigger area's and the Krome for your smaller area's and detail work

I always recommend the eclipse brushes, though usually the hp-cs. The only difference though is the cup, the cs is bigger and has a lid. Its very reliable, and as mentioned parts aren't the cheapest (and not the most expensive either) however they are very tough and hard wearing, so with correct handling they last a long time, so IMO it balances out.