New by try to paint non-porous surface

Jayhawk

Double Actioner
I've tied searching for my answer but haven't found it. I'm a total beginner with art in general and airbrush specifically. Having a lot of fun trying as it is a 180 from what I normally do.

I just started a week ago and at first I had to have the air at about 45# to get any paint to flow. Through reducer ( water ) and patience I'm able to blow at about 20# now. My gun is an iwata HP-CS and I'm using Comart opaque and trans, or Createx. They're bot available at the local Hobby Lobby.

I've watched a number of videos on painting where the artist erases the paint for highlights. That is getting to the nut of my question.

To practice on I've been using regular typing paper since its cheep. I've got some Bristol paper just t have something "better" to work with. None of these will erase , I think because they are so absorbent that the paper is stained. I bought a tablet of Strathmore palette paper that has a poly-coated surface. It erases great. I assume that because the paint lays on the surface and not absorb into it. Great!, but, since the paint doesn't absorb it tends to spider all over the place. I'm assuming even 20#s is too much for this surface? The other observation is that if I go light enough to not run the paint I have to wait a long time for it to dry enough for a second coat.

Questions:
- best paper to start with for learning technique?
-is water acceptable for reducer do above mentioned paints on that medium?
-what is the "normal " suggested pressure setting for my gun and paints for non-porous surfaces?
-do you use heat gun to dry the paint faster?

Thanks

Lower pressure helps, build up layers slowly. Learn how to start an effects at 10% opacity and build it up, that will avoid runs. Practice on the substrate with dots and daggers to get control. Regarding reducer, check what the manufacturer says but as a general comment water is fine with water based paints.