New to airbrushes.

C

cmreschke

Hey guys and gals, I'm new to the airbrush scene. Little bit about my hobby, I'm into action figures ranging from 18th scale to 6th scale (4" to 12"). Partner at work suggested using an airbrush for base coating as I have been using standard paint brushes for all of my work. He suggested the paasche talon which I bought cuz hey I'll try anything once. Needless to say I'm a little disappointed. Mostly I think my problem is I just don't know how to use it properly with regards to airflow and needle sizes and what not.

I accept operator error and I accept practice makes perfect and patience for better results but I think that the talon is just not the right brush for me.

What brush would you recommend for an all around general brush? I'm not looking for super fine detail yet just basic cover for base coating and potentially washes on a figure. I know it's a preference thing for most like which is better ford or Chrysler or even gm.

Maybe jut suggestions from the 2 or 3 main manufacturers I spose. Figure price point around 150 ish. I'm also realistic and don't really suffer from sticker shock on prices.

As for compressor I'm using a 2 gallon 125 psi pancake from harbor freight, with a regulator set at 60 which goes to a water seperate and another regulator for dialing up or down. Using the talon at around 40 seemed ok for the #1 tip. I need another #2 tip as mine is damaged so waiting on that.

Thanks for any insight, and here's to your paint always flowing.

firstly welcome from Australia :thumbsup:
the one factor that you haven't mentioned that will probably be the main decider on what brush, is what paint do you intend to shoot through it ??
Do you have a base coat/primer that you use on all models or do you vary it depending on need ?

We have a few modellers here on the forum and no doubt they will be along shortly with some addition questions info.