For Every Airbrush Artist!

Ready to get involved? Register for free and you won't see any google advertising!

Register

Newbies?New-ishbies? - Help please. (and anyone else with good memories)

Discussion in 'Open Bar!' started by Squishy, Feb 15, 2017.

1. Squishy

Squishy Queen Clown Slayer Mod

Hi, hoping you can give me some insight. I am currently watching some how to vids etc - but from the perspective of teaching rather than learning (although I am still learning - it never stops lol) as I hope to be teaching some kids to AB later this year.

I am trying to remember when I started how helpful the info was. I find my self thinking, would I have known how to just 'do' whatever the instructor was explaining without any experience - I've heard quite a few just build that up/ sharpen up, or soften or use a particular method etc in the things I have been watching. Sometimes there seems to be no explanation why they were doing something, and no reasons for doing things in a certain order. With colour mixing, no why they added that to make the colour they wanted - and lots of that will do I'll adjust as I go and they spray at less opacity or more reduction to make the colour more as they wanted without explaining what they did etc etc, the list goes on.

I am having difficulty thinking back to how I was, because when I started I was too stupid to look online (yup, one lonely brain cell and its not too smart) and by the time the penny dropped I had already (painfully, and in a much longer time than if I'd had any sense) got to a point where I had some idea of what people meant by the time I started learning from the internet.