paint peel off

W

wandyhee

hey everyone, this is my second post in here (after introduction post).. i'm quite new to spray paint and airbrush.. but I do have partner who has knowledge regarding spray painting (study in technical college).. my question here, i'm wondering what is the main reason paint as in picture peeled/off once I remove sticker (block).. is it because of quality of thinner i'm using? or is it because the way I removed the sticker... or is there any other reason? paint & thinner mixing ratio is 1:1 and surface are sanded using 800 grit sandpaper as for airbrush prepation. airbrush are gravity feed 0.3 size dual action.. appreciate any input from you guys

P7060009.JPG

I think your sticker sticks too hard on the surface. You need something like stick folio. Its very easy to remove and it doesnt take the paint with it. Also if u spray too much paint and make it thickly.

thanks for reply.. first step i'll do next it to reduce the amount of paint I sprayed.. if it's still doesn't work I go for your another advise, changing to stick folio.. but never heard of that stuff before anyway... LOL. i'll google it and search around town if any shop sell it. current sticker I use bought from sticker printing shop.. mostly they print and cut as decal for car and motorcycle

anyway, I read post from another forum this morning.. the proper material to use as mask are low tack paint mask, and easily remove compare to sticker. will find that stuff around town

To remove any stickers /material gently heating the sticker with a hair dryer will soften the glue and allow you to pull sticker off .Yes low tack masks are better to use and they leave little to no residue .Removing mask when paint is fully cured can also lift the paint as can not pulling the tape/mask back on itself .