For Every Airbrush Artist!

Ready to get involved? Register for free and you won't see any google advertising!

Register

Pinstriping starter: What you need

Discussion in 'Pinstriping' started by Red Baron, Jun 16, 2012.

1. Red Baron

Red Baron Needle-chuck Ninja

Hi all,

I've been asked by Madbrush to help out with getting all that are keen to grab a brush and start pulling some lines.

Firstly I'm not a pro at this by any means but I have done a little, so I would regard myself as a stage above beginners level.

What I've done is attached a photo of what I started out with and believe me it was plenty to get you going especially if your on a budget. Number one rule don't go spending a heap of money until you think you are going to continue on with it.

In the photo you can see my starter set up that got me going (From left to right)

Empty fudge tin for a brush holder - One Shot black & One Shot white - Ordinary baby powder - One shot brush cleaner - Neatsfoot oil - Turpentine - Wax and grease remover - household windex.

In front of that:

two small metal tins - an old magazine - two Mack series 20 brushes (size 0 & 2) - Practice panel that I made up.

I'll add the next couple of threads with some other tips to get you started.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jun 16, 2012
  2. Red Baron

I decided not to start another thread as it will be easier to follow it on through here.

PRACTICE PANEL:
    I used a metal framed picture frame. I drew up a grid on white poster board about 1" x 1" filling the entire frame and slipped in behind the glass and sealed it up with the existing backing board.
    I also marked the centre both way with a darker line. This will help later when you start to stripe designs.
    This is the perfect practice panel as you can pull as many lines curves and whatever else you want. Once you have filled the practice panel up all you need to do is wipe it off with some wax and grease remover and start all over again.