For Every Airbrush Artist!

Ready to get involved? Register for free and you won't see any google advertising!

Register

problem with Alclad candy red

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting!' started by Matthew, Feb 4, 2017.


  1. Matthew

    Matthew Young Tutorling

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi all

    Im new to airbrushing and this forum, so this is my first post :)

    I am following this guide to try and paint my guys. The first 3 coats of alclad black primer, alclad copper and then alclad gold went on just fine (and look pretty good!) but the final coat of Alclad candy red is just not working.

    I have had 3 pots now, and every single one appears to be be lumpy, with like a gelatine type substance in it which appears to instantly block my airbrush. The instructions specifically say not to thin the paint and the other 3 colours worked just fine.

    Does anyone have any experience with this alclad candy red? Or can offer some advice? I can provide pictures of the goo if thats going to be of any use.

    I am using an IWATA TRN1 airbrush.

    Appreciate any advice anyone has

    Regards
  2. jord001

    jord001 Air-Valve Autobot!

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    3,324
    Likes Received:
    1,917
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Location:
    Birmingham UK
    Hi Matthew, If there are any type of lumps in the paint i would strain it first, you can either buy paint strainers from an automotive paint retailer or ebay, 190 micron is good. Alternatively if you have a female living with you and they have some old tights / pantyhose / stockings, just pour the candy or paint through the material or strainer into the airbrush before spraying.

    Lee
  3. Mr.Micron

    Mr.Micron Royal pain in the air hose Admin

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    13,520
    Likes Received:
    8,024
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Location:
    Bloomington,Indiana
    How are you mixing your candy ? Sound like it is seeding to me . Which mean you are not adding it to the intercoat clear first mixing well then adding reducer.
    If it is pre mixed you may have gotten a bad batch or you have have let it get to cold while in storage.
  4. Matthew

    Matthew Young Tutorling

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the replies guys.

    I took your suggestion Lee and run it through some fine tights. While a whole pot of paint only have me 2 small cups of usable paints it did work. I have ordered some proper nylon paint 190 micron filters from the interwebz.

    Mr Micron, I am not mixing it at all. The instructions say go straight from pot to airbrush. The other Alclad colous i had worked just fine doing that. I think I might have got a bad batch as all 3 are the same as I havnt kept them in a cold place.

    I was going to phone Alclad on Monday and see what they say
  5. Basstrack238

    Basstrack238 Needle-chuck Ninja

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    433
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Illinois USA
    I have no experience with the candy alclad but the stuff I have is thin lacquer and sprays great. NO lumps. That can't be right, I would contact manufacturer.
  6. markjthomson

    markjthomson Very happy! Staff Member Mod

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    5,797
    Likes Received:
    4,757
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Location:
    Auckland New Zealand
    Hi there, looks like there are some good solutions here. Welcome to the forum, how about popping along to the intro section and saying Hi... where you from, what do you do, what do you use, that sort of thing. Cheers Mark

Share This Page