Problem with new Badger

R

rrjr69

hello,

I've been airbrushing off and on for a couple of months and had been using a knock-off brand ab.
I finally decided to upgrade and after changing my mind several times on which one to buy, I ended up buying a Badger 105 Patriot.
I'd read many good reviews about the Patriot and was excited to be done with all the problems I've been having with the knock-off ab.

After trying the Badger for the first couple of times I noticed that it didn't seem right and hopefully someone here can help me.

Here's my set-up:
Badger 105 Patriot
DIY built compressor using a refrigerator compressor with a 2 1/2 gallon tank
Moisture trap and regulator on exit of compressor tank and a mini moisture trap on ab set at 20-25psi
Createx transparent paints
Black liquid ink
Water with food coloring

My main problem is when I pull back the trigger I don't get any paint until the trigger is over half way to fully open and then it really comes out fast.
I know it's not the paint being too thick because I've tried it with colored water with the same result.
When I tried to adjust the tension on the needle tube I started to get paint coming out as soon as I pressed the trigger down without pulling back.
As I decreased tension on the needle tube more paint will come out and when I increase tension less paint will come out until it will finally stop when I have it screwed in all the way.
I've cleaned it several times and broken it down all the way to make sure there wasn't something stuck inside. Which I wouldn't think you would have to do with a brand new ab.
Tried it again with the same result.
I then took it apart and replaced the tip with the extra one that came with the ab. After putting it back together when i tried it I got no air coming out of the ab and when I pulled back the for paint I get bubbles in the paint cup and air coming out between the head and spray regulator connection.