SG100 Intercoat wrinkled my basecoat

J

Juicegoose

So I've only used sg100 intercoat clear twice. Both times it wrinkled my kbc basecoat. Not all the way just in spots. I had applied the KBC and let it flash roughly 5-10 minutes. I am spraying a very small area maybe 1" x 1". I mixed up the sg100 with RU311 reducer in a 1-1 ratio and sprayed a medium coat and let it sit. After about 5 minutes I come back and BAM freakin wrinkling the surface. Is my Basecoat not dry enough or something?

The last time something happened to me like that I had over applied the clear.

The other possibility is there was something like oils from your skin on the paint or metal.

I am no expert so don't bank on what I say.

Paint on

maybe I applied it to thick. I can't imagine that I did but geez. I certainly didn't touch the part. I was wearing gloves the whole time.

Do a dust coat before going as far as a medium. I always do a dust coat, wait 10-15 mins, a light coat, wait 10-15, then start with the med and heavy coats allowing proper flashing.
The base coat might need alot more time to dry properly.

twood beat me too it, I was going to suggest that your base might not be fully dry, or that the top layer had dried but not the one below, and when the clear is applied that moisture gets pulled through. It could be happening in patches because the base might be applied thicker in some places which is where it may not be quite dry, and the rest dried fine. Either that or there is some kind of reaction. I don't know what you are painting on, but for example if it was a bike tank or helmet etc that once had stickers on, glue residue could cause it. I have had to strip tanks back to bare metal and use a barrier coat before as the glue had eaten right through and even into the metal. It could be if it is something that has body filler in, the filler may not be properly dry too.

Flash time of only 5 to 10 minutes??
And what is the shop temps and humidity ?