For Every Airbrush Artist!

Ready to get involved? Register for free and you won't see any google advertising!

Register

Spatter Cap

Discussion in 'Tips & Tricks!' started by ZB DON, Jan 29, 2017.


  1. ZB DON

    ZB DON Young Tutorling

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    1



    This looks really fun might pick up a Evolution Brush to try this out I was using a Paasche H and pressings the trigger half way down then adjusting the airflow for different sized splatters.
  2. AndreZA

    AndreZA Elite Member! Elite Member! Artist of the Month!

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,231
    Likes Received:
    5,069
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Spatter caps are overrated. You pay for something that can be done very easily without.
  3. Squishy

    Squishy Queen Clown Slayer Mod

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    11,559
    Likes Received:
    8,542
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Location:
    Hampshire South Coast UK
    Looks like it works really well, but I'm too tight with money, and would rather use a free method lol.
  4. Basstrack238

    Basstrack238 Needle-chuck Ninja

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    433
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Illinois USA
    I've got one for renegades, but rarely use it.
  5. Nessus

    Nessus Gravity Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    104
    Trophy Points:
    41
    With gravity feeds you can create spatter just by under-adjusting the air pressure, no hardware needed. With pretty much any brush you can make spatter just by holding something like a pencil tip in front of the needle: anything that fouls the air/paint stream while still letting it pass will cause the stream to form spatters.

    A special tip isn't needed, and having to swap it on and off would just slow you down and add unnecessary complication.
  6. Amra

    Amra Gravity Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    USA
    Forgive my ignorance, but I thought the thurisaz (thor) rune pointed to the right, not the left? Or.. maybe, Is it ymir... ? Hmm. Just curious! Thanks! :)

Share This Page