Splatter with air after spraying - normal?

G

Grant C

Hi, I've got an H&S Ultra, and when I spray just air after spraying paint before, some paint comes out making a bit of a 'splatter'. Not a lot, but enough to cause me a lot of headaches when it goes on a miniature!

The problem seems significantly worse with my 0.4mm nozzle & needle than my 0.2.

Is this normal? Do I just need to remember to spray away from my work at first?

Thanks

Theres more experienced brushers on here than me who will answer.
But it sound like there is something in your nozzle, probobaly just a light coating of paint as its splatting then sealing itself. When you shut off the paint a little bit of paint will leak out waiting to fly out the next time you push/pull the trigger.
Im not familiar with this brush, whether its single action or double but it sounds like a cleaning issue.Or your trigger may be sticking slightly.

As a newbie i have learnt that anything like this happening means its time to give it a really good clean.
I find its always a good idea to push for air away from your art before spraying paint just in case!
Ive done it myself and ruined a perfectly good pic with a big splat of black.
It becomes second nature after a while to spray away from your work first.

the most common reason for the splatter would be paint left behind on either the needle or the needle cap or both

Yes even a tiny dried speck or film of paint can cause the needle not to seat properly so that when you pull back for air paint can get forced out all at once in a splat.

You may need to soak your nozzles in airbrush restorer, and then give them a thorough, but gentle clean - you don't want to scratch the inside, or flare them.

Hi, I've got an H&S Ultra, and when I spray just air after spraying paint before, some paint comes out making a bit of a 'splatter'. Not a lot, but enough to cause me a lot of headaches when it goes on a miniature!