Trident paints

T

Troyster

Hey guys, do any of you have any experience using trident water based paints?, it not a name I,m familiar with and lionart seems to have them at a good price at the mo, if their anything like wicked I,ll steer well clear!

I bought a few of these from lion art and first impression is good. Haven't used them extensively yet but i would say give them a try while they are on offer. I may buy some more yet, need to check the piggy bank

I have used Trident paints since they came on the market. I used to use thinners based base coat, but as i have no sense of smell, brought about by 40 years of being a cabinetmaker , and inhaling toxic fumes from contact adhesive, i was inhaling dangerous fumes which i could not smell.

I decided i would look for a water based paint and came across Trident. I have been using it for a couple of years and am really happy with it.

It has really good coverage, and grips on, so long as you have prepped properly, goes without saying. A little slower drying than thinners base coat, which of course dries
immediately. However, i just keep my heat gun handy and just give it quick blow. Masking film and masking tape can be applied immediately and will not pull paint off when removed. There is one tip i can give you.

It is little bit vulnerable to scratching when fresh, such as from finger nail by accident. I overcome this by keeping acrylic clear coat in my syphon feed Paasche vl and spray light coats over artwork as i go. This method works great, as it allows you to lightly sand with 2000 paper and remove those annoying minute build ups of paint from edge of masking tape. Also protects your artwork as you go.

You can NOT use wax and grease remover before clear coating. So make sure your work is nice and clean by other methods before clearing.

I have had complete success with Trident as my photo library shows, and my latest posting under finished artworks ( VIETNAM HELMET) if you want to take a look.