Wicked Detail.

C

Compleks

Who else uses this paint.? What are your thoughts?

Maybe it's because I'm new to airbrushing. But I'm really not happy at all.

It sprays fine when over reduced. Really over reduced...
But I cant get any sort of decent solid coverage without it constantly blocking, spitting and flowing like glue.

Now I haven't used any other paints. But the fact that it works well when almost diluted to water, I can't imagine there being any other issue other than the paint being too thick. I've tried with all sorts of psi and reductions.
So It's fine if I'm blasting out large amounts of paint. But I can't get any details without having to make a stupid amount of passes.

I'm just venting because I ruined another piece due to terrible paint flow...

Wicked is a great paint But it is designed to build your color rather than blast it on.
It also helps when Venting to tell us a little about what airbrush and air pressure you are spraying it at.
But if you are looking for a more Beginner friendly paint I suggest Spectra-tex it shoots great straight out the bottle through my Iwata Eclipse cs .35 and my Micron with .18 set up in it. Has great coverage .

And detail should be made in a lot of passes, the more passes , erasing and building of layers you do the more detail you get.
Most time I over reduce the wicked 1 part paint to 50 parts reducer. and shoot at about 5 PSI. lots of passes to even see the color hit the board but that way I build the color slowly and get a better effect I am going for.

I use it and its all I've ever used but I use it how you suggest, if I want coverage I use it milk consistency and pressure around 25/30 our for detail I reduce it 1 in 10/15 part reducer and spray at around 8 psi....and as you say just build up the layers slowly.this is the key to getting softer more realistic paintings, plus it is easier to correct mistakes