Wicked paints

I

Iron Trooper

I recently have started airbrushing and have bought some different brands of paint and this far my favorite is createx wicked and auto air. Im looking to get some more candy water based paint and was wondering if there is a major difference between auto airs candy pigment and candy 2o. I have some of the auto air candy pigment and wanted to know if candy 2o is worth a upgrade. Also would like to know how to make my own water based candy paint with ink or dye. Any help would be much appreciated i am new to airbrushing but i love it.

Welcome to the forum , Yes the candy 2.0 is a lot better as its a brighter candy color more like a real candy paint.If you haven't already done so please go to the intro section and tell us a little about yourself as it helps us answer your questions better Thanks

I have used both and the New 2O is the bomb. If you were to put the old pigment based candy over black, it tints the black the color of candy being used. The new is a dye based and will absorb into the black, keeping it black with no tinting...
I did some tests....The first pic is the pigment type. You can see how the black turned red. The helmet is the Candy 2O and you can see that the black is still black...
IMG-20140720-02359.jpg IMG_1247.JPG

I now use the old pigment type as a transparent paint when painting...
Hope this helps...

The Candy2O is dye based and much better than the original candies which are pigment based. Give one a try, they re not too expensive.

Lee

They are worlds apart. The candy20 is a true analine dye. You must use the 4030 additive, and I recommend using more than the recommended amount as I find it helps with drying.

That all of you for the help. Looks like ill be ordering some soon.

The candy 2o is still water based and safe to use indoors without a booth correct??

What other brands of water base paints would you guys recommend?

What other brands of water base paints would you guys recommend?