1st step

S

solunamania

Hello everyone, I have a question to start an airbrush.
1. The color to use in initial training should take any type of watercolor paint. Colored plastic ....
2. Should airbrush onto the surface of paper or cloth or something ...
Thanks

Hi Solun, I am not sure I fully understand the question, so I will try answer some of what I think you- are asking (I am also a little new to the art)

If you are asking the question about what paint to get first because money is a priority, then I would get a black or grey paint, along with the reducer or medium from your local art shop. some peeps use India ink, and like me, I went for the local brand of cheap acrylic ink.
remember to reduce (thin) your paint to the consistency of milk, the India ink may already be thin enough (need clarity) but some drawing inks like FW Daler Rowney need further reducing. I used a formula from this forum of 25% denatured alchohol, 75% water (distilled if available) and a drop of glycerin per 30ml (1 ounce). and then you will need to play around with your pressure from your air supply/compressor and with the mix of your reducer and paint. I am using about 10- 15 Psi and 2 drops ink to 4 drops reducer, but i am still playing and learning.

I hope this is clear.

for practicing I would use all the old paper you can find, and then go onto more expensive papers/boards/canvass when you are confidant.

I am also sure you will get more and maybe better advice from others here.

Please let us know if this answers your question?

Salunamania, not watcolour paint but water soluble paint like acrylics. Not out of the tube as it is not meant to go through an airbrush. Like Flycatcher said, look for an acrylic ink or just a plain ink otherwise. Play on normal typing paper or those rolls that you feed though a printer.

Sorry for the question is not clear.
Youtube clip of the practice and the teaching of basic airbrush and line drawings. What kind of paint to use for teaching.