A Beginner's Beginner

S

StoneAngel

Hey guys,

not even so much a beginner as a haven't-yet-begunner. I've always wanted to do airbrushing but back when I worked as a graphic artist I had no way of setting up by myself or affording the equipment. Life got in the way; now my kids are all 18 and over, I have the time and resources to follow a direction that pulled at me many years ago.

I'm looking to go do one of Mick Neill's beginner courses, then extend from there (the 'real flame' class looks amazing - that's definitely a must-do).

Funnily enough, getting back into this occurred to me because I have a 1990 Ford F250 pickup, and it's fine - it's the 7.5L petrol V8 XLT Lariat, so it's got the burgundy red and silver paint job and red plush interior. But the paintwork, while sound, is just a little... well, boring. At the very least I want to redo that slightly dull burgundy a nice crisp candy apple red and turn the greyish silver into something with a lot more gleam.

I have to confess, when it comes to paint finishes, I have all the taste and restraint of a magpie on acid - crackle finishes, metallics, glitter, bring 'em on! (Well, OK, some of the bigger glitters can look a bit crap but why bother when there are so many alternatives?)

I'm a writer and blogger, DIY and upcycling enthusiast (for that, read: I'm a menace with power tools and I like thinking of different ways to use old stuff... or any stuff), I'm married to Thinking Man and I have three daughters, three dogs, five cats and two bloody rabbits that are not technically mine but which I somehow end up feeding and talking to. I live in Northumberland in the UK.

Anybody wants to see my old blog from 2012-13 when I was doing the Highland Games Heavy Events (tossing the caber and so forth), just type "throwingmyweightsaround" into a search engine all in one word, that should find it for you. I'd post a link but as a newbie to the forum I know I can't do that yet. :)