a dilema ....

ljordan

Young Tutorling
hey all ,

as i am new to this i wondered if i could have your advice on whether to go for an iwata eclipse cs or the micron???? im looking to getting it as a starter kit ... and as i am saving currently im in two minds ....

any opinions greatly appreciated

leanne xx :)

Hi Leanne,
In my opinion the eclipse would be a better airbrush for a beginner since it has the 0.35mm nozzle setup and is not as problematic with the paints.
With the micron you have to delute your paints very good and specialy when you are starting out the deluting of the paints is pretty hard till you
have figured it all out. Also the micron is pretty expensive and i would not spent that much right at the start when you have to try if airbrushing
is the right thing for you. I do have an Eclipse and it´s really a very good airbrush, you cant go wrong with that one. Let´s see what others will
think about it, but that´s what i would suggest :)

Not sure about your level of dexterity with the airbrush and where you plan to go. But if you're a real starter go for the Eclipse, if you expect to be spraying fine detail within a reasonable amount of time the Micron would be a better choice. Please bear in mind that the Micron's nozzle is smaller than that of the Eclipse and that it is therefore pickier where the use of paints is concerned. You can spray by far the most paints with it, but for better results you have to dilute the paints more with the Microns than with the Eclipse. But I started as a complete newby back in the 80's with a Paasche V#1 which was top of the bill at that time and I never regretted it.