Airbrush cleaning (and too much cleaning) Q's

M

Markgman73

Okay, I am very new to airbrushing, so forgive my ignorance. Apparently I have cleaned my airbrush too much/too aggressively and ruined the bearing seal. Now I know not to use brushes....

I have been breaking my airbrush down after every session, not just rinsing and spraying. Is this too much cleaning? What do most people do to clean up and how often?

I am really looking for guidance with this question because I am out an airbrush for a few weeks and don't want this to happen again. ( I have developed quite the airbrushing addiction and not painting at night will be very tough for me to handle)

Thanks

Everyone cleans slightly different. I run water through the brush till it comes out clean. Then I run ammonia free Windex through it to make sure there is no residual paint the water did not break down. I will then remove the needle and check for paint residue if there is paint left I will run more Windex or just squirt some through the gun from the back to the front. then rinse with water. I will then put some lube on the needle and put it back together. But this is just how I do it. others never remove the needle I had a needle to get stuck in the brush before, that's why I remove it and lube it.

The only time you need to strip down your airbrush is if it fails to perform satisfactorily each time you use, even if you get a blockage you only need to clean the parts at the head.

If for example you are using water based paint, all you need to do is run cleaner through it and then clean water then you should be good to go for the next session.

If you have more than one brush and one sits for a long unused it is usually wise to strip down, clean and lube before using it for the first time.