Airbrush to paint bodies for Rc cars

J

jay pee

Hello guys, I want to buy an airbrush to start painting Rc cars, I'm new to all this and at this moment I'm trying to get as much info as possible before I purchase one. Thanks guys

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi Jay Pee

First of all welcome to the forum.

The answer to your question is not that simple, do you intend to only paint your model car bodies, or do wish to do other things, like some of the amazing stuff you will see on here.

Any of the real name brushes you can see on this forum would suit your purpose, and since I paint and fly model aircraft, I understand that most of what you will be doing involves more masking than free hand, tip size is not an issue.

My advice is first have a look through the "what airbrush do yo have" section and get to know what's out there, if you plan to go further than just your models, e.g. fine detail artwork and so on, something 0.2 - 0.3 tip is a good all-rounder.

Have a look at something you think you may like and just run it by us, we will tell you if it suits you specific needs before you go wasting money.

What you must not do is buy foreign no name stuff, this is false economy and parts are scarce.

As well as the above mentioned, in addition to an airbrush, you would also need a compressor and all the other stuff that goes with it, it can be very expensive to get set up.

I would assume that you also ride or race model cars and you want to make these presentable, if this is the case, you would be amazed what you can do with a simple spray can, I'm a member of a model building forum involving all kinds of rc including cars, planes and even long distance lorries, on that forum they have a section called "the spray shop" here I have seen incredible creations using just spray cans.