Airbrush was working great, and then not...what did I do wrong?

A

antongoldman

I'm really hoping this forum can help me. I have a Grex GXi, double-action, gravity feed airbrush with a 0.3mm nozzle. I'm a novice when it comes to airbrushing and but when I used the Grex at a demonstration I thought, "this is going to be perfect". I'm painting tabletop miniatures (Warhammer) so I really wanted something that I could use at low pressure, 10-15psi, and for really fine detail, hence the 0.3mm nozzle. I got the airbrush home and didn't have a lot of success, but then all of sudden it started working. I don't know what I did, but it just clicked. I was using Vallejo acrylics mixed with Createx airbrush medium and was airbrushing like a pro. Paint was shooting at low pressure without sputters and I was flushing and then changing colors and it was all going great. At some point after many hours, it started to fail. Paint was coming out in sputters and I couldn't get back the control I had before. I cleaned the airbrush with airbrush cleaner and then in an ultrasonic cleaner. I took it apart multiple times, tried using different paints, both Vallejo air and then Createx air colors, and still nothing. Finally, through this forum (thank you, btw) I found the trick to tighten the nozzle. Did that and still nothing. I finally talked to Grex support (who are fantastic, btw) who first walked me through the tightening of the nozzle and then suggest I send the airbrush to them for an inspection. Fortunately they are local here in SoCal, so it was not a problem. They explained I had a very dirty nozzle and then thoroughly cleaned the airbrush and sent it back. Again, I feel like they have been so terrific in helping me solve this problem. Today was the day I finally got back to painting. I took out the airbrush, shot some water through it and started painting. I thought I should start with "air-ready" colors just to be sure. They worked alright (not perfect) but I thought, "let me s