Aircap modification

MariusM

Young Tutorling
Hi,

I would like to ask for a piece of advice on an issue I'm encountering with my Paasche Talon TG 2L.

I got it with a 0.38mm needle and it works fine. I wanted to have a finer needle and I bought a 0.2mm needle. I got the 0.2mm tip too. I also got the aircap for it but Paasche makes only one for 0.25mm and 0.2mm. It seems the combo is not working for me as I barely managed to pull out paint and after cleaning I tried with water because I use Vallejo model color and I thought I screwed up the thinning. It doesn't even spray water. I managed only once to get the water out. I put back the 0.38mm and it works just fine.

I'm quite new to airbrushing and as I understand it, the tip should be a bit longer then the aircup to get the pulling force. When I look at the parts the tip and aircap seem to be flush. I'm wondering if this is the problem and I thought I could grind the aircap a bit to make it shorter. I don't know if this is a good idea. Someone else tried this? Should I try something else? I screwed the aircap quite hard and I don't think there is much more space before I tear apart the O-ring...

This seems to a be kind of a common issue on these brushes. The number 1 cap is for both .2 and .25 nozzle set ups. You have to get it screwed on far enough to allow for some nozzle protrusion from the front of the cap. If the nozzle is not sticking out it can hinder the amount of suction produced... thus, no paint flow. Ditto if there is too much protrusion... I had to try a hand full of nozzles before I found one that actually worked well on my Talon. While some of the nozzles did work, they were off center in the nozzle cap - so, back they went. No trouble at all with the .38.