ALMOST a beginner

L

Landon Moore

I draw, paint some with brushes, wood burn, create art on photoshop, create pieces using mixed mediums, do some sculpting and carving, and am generally creative. I most often work with bones, skulls, and wood for painting and wanted to expand to air brushing. I imagine I could find a number of mediums to paint on, canvas included. I am looking for general information towards helping me buy what I need to get started. I would love a variety of recommendations, more parts and pieces centric, but I also welcome learning related tips, links, and so on.

Thanks in advance for any who might take a moment to recommend a rig and accessories. BTW, I want something I can grow into, so I do not want anything designated fro beginners that I would quickly feel limited with.

Welcome to the forum! I think I know the questions you're gonna be asked here. I'm a newb myself so not sure what to recommend, personally I use a Harder & Steenbeck Infinity and I love it. Many here seem to prefer Iwata ABs.

1st, welcome aboard! I too have a background doing many of the things you list, as well as several other creative adventures :).

The airbrush I probably recommend more than any other for people starting out is an Iwata Eclipse. There are several configurations, and I say take your pick, and have at it. They are robust enough of a build that they can generally take all the abuse a beginner can dish out, yet a good enough brush to allow you to really grow into learning with it. They can be a brush that literally last a lifetime.

There are several Badger airbrushes that I think are great starter brushes as well. The Patriot 105 comes to mind here. Quite robust build, and adaptable. There are also brushes like the Krome, and Renegade series, but I find them to be a bit more fussy than the Patriot.