Another Newbie

Wild.Bill

Double Actioner
Feel like I am just learning how to AB. I started a couple of years ago painting foam RC plane's I was making and started using the AB for better control than rattle cans. Nothing fancy - just some course designs.

A few months ago I started working at repainting a plastic RC sail boat with an acrylic paint - then the education began. The first pass looked OK at first but I used the wrong paint and I didn't hold up. I am about to start pass 2 with Wicked Opaque paint which I understand to be much harder.

I have spent a lot of time researching Air Brushes and paints and in the process discover AB art and have been working at learning good technique and will probably start my first are work this week. Not being an artist I am going to start with some impressionism style art.

I have a small booth set up with a 20x20 fan with a filter on the front of it. Its amazing how much paint shows up in the filter. I also got a small collection of brushes. Started with Master kit (like a lot of people), then got a Paasche Talon and a Badger 105 Patriot. And today I had a Creos 270 delivered so I am ready to try some finer art.

Well that's enough for now

Bill

Welcome Bill. Wicked paints are pretty tough, so I hope you have better results. Check the Createx website for the Data Sheets that give information on prep and application. Following those gives you your best chance at success.

Welcome Bill,
Can I ask you to pop your location (country & state if applicable) it helps if we recommend suppliers or resources.
Durability of paint will be helped with proper surface prep, especially with RC bodies, they need to be squeaky clean before starting with sealers etc.
Createx UVLS Gloss is currently recommended to help with adhesion.

Welcome Bill,
Can I ask you to pop your location (country & state if applicable) it helps if we recommend suppliers or resources.