Badger Krome (Airlflow Through Cup)

D

Digimortal

Hi There

I am brand new to airbrushing, and purchased a Badger Krome Airbrush and BA1100 Compressor using a 1/4 to 1/8 BSP hose and the supplied Iwata adapter that comes with the Airbrush.

Suprised I managed to get this far, I set it all up, the compressor comes on and switches off once it gets to 4bar pressure in the tank.

I press down the on the dual action trigger and bam! The metal lid flies off the airbrush across the room and air will only flow out of cup area where I would put paint.

So I have played around with the brush a bit and identified the components that prevent the air flowing out the around the needle, these are the Regulator and the Tip. The Badger Krome comes with a .21mm Needle, Tip & Regulator as well as a .33mm kit. I have tried both and experience the same issue regardless of setup, I am confident I have the correct needle and Tip combined as the size differences are quite obvious.

When I remove the regulator Air flows out the front of the brush, but this is not a solution I'm sure you will all agree.

So my questions is, what am I doing wrong? I cannot imagine that both fittings have faults I am new to this type of equipment, so I do hope I am just being stupid, anyway here are things I have considered and some pictures of the device if that helps with the diagnostics at all.

Questions I have asked myself:
  • How would the air get through? When I look at the needle poking through the regultor, there is no gap until I pull the trigger backwards.
  • When I look in the cup all I see is an exposed needle, would air not naturally force itself out of the largest gap, what if I add a liquid?
  • Should the needle be pressed against Tip, I don't see a gap for air at the front until the leaver is pulled back.

Tests Completed:
  • Initial Test Around 3 Bar Pressure (Popping Lid)
  • Reduced Pressure Down ro 1 Bar
  • Increased Pressure to 4 Bar
  • Added Water (watched it bubble)